Looking Ahead

Well, I can’t say that I’ve been keeping up with Home Education Week very well but I did want to participate with this last prompt from Principled Discovery. It goes like this:

What are your goals for home education? What do you hope to instill in your children? Are you planning any changes in how you educate your children?

I am going to break it down and answer it in bits.

What are your goals for home education?

This is a tough one!  My goals are to have well educated children but that is so vague.  I don’t want my children to leave here having learned all they need (how could you do that anyway?) but fully ready to spend their life learning.  I would hope that the way they have learned as children would leave them ready and willing to learn more and more and more until the day they die.  I want them to know that if they don’t know something the answer is not to give up but to go and find the answer. I would also hope that my kids would be well on the way to knowing who they are and where they would like to be in the world and to have the foundation to get themselves there.

What so you hope to instill in your children?

A sense of wonder, a thirst for learning and a passion for life.  A respect for the earth and each other.  Tolerance of differences and the ability to embrace the cultures of others.

Are you planning on any changes in how you educate your children?

Well, I do plan on becoming a bit more formal with K next year since she will be a freshman and even with B who will be in 3rd grade.  More so with her then with him of course!  The thought of a transcript looming makes it necessary for us to become more formal with K’s education.  B is just getting to the age where he can handle the occasional lesson plan 🙂  

At the heart of it though, nothing will really change.  I will still consult them as to what they want to learn.  I will respect their differences and special learning needs.  I will still read to them (yes, even the 14yo) and work with them on projects. Whatever hoops we have to jump through educationally I will try and make it as painless as possible.  In short, I will try my best to do what is best for them.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. “…a thirst for learning…” – I want to instill that in my children too.

    I have enjoyed your posts.
    Stacy

    Reply

  2. I hope that my little one still wants to listen to books on CD/tape when she is older, too.
    It has been such a wonderful surprise – – how much I have really enjoyed it.
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

  3. […] Brumbemom @ Life, As I See It13. Celly B14. Jen 15. Andrea16. Stacy @ Teaching Diligently17. Crimson Wife18. Christy19. Christine (so, now what?)20. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

