Home Education Week Catch Up-Show and Tell

Ok, I’m playing catch up!  This was Thursday’s prompt from Principled Discovery:

Show off those talents.  Share a story, a special Moment, a peice of artwork. Any accomplishment, great or small, is fair game.

OK I’ll start with myself this time just to shake things up a bit!  I’ve been told I’m wise, but I’m not sure I agree with that. I’m definitely not known for my patience (ha!).  I guess if I had to pick something to brag about it would be my GFCF baking ability.  Yup, I can whip up tasty cupcakes with no gluten or dairy containing ingredients.  My cookies are pretty darn good and I can even do cut out cookies that hold together (which I have been told is pretty amazing) in both sugar and molasses varieties.  Chocolate cake is my specialty and I always make it for M on she and B’s combo birthday party.  It’s getting so people actually ask for it even though there is a *real* bakery cake there as well (for B). 

W has this amazing ability to just whip stuff up, construction wise I mean.  He once made a rabbit hutch from spare lumber, freehand.  If you need something, he can make it, and probably with whatever he’s got laying around.

K..ah K.  She is so brave.  Despite being one of the shyest people I have met she has done things like football halftime shows, cheer competitions with over 5000 people in the audience, dance shows and several oral presentations to our homeschool group where she managed to speak knowledgeably and eloquently and then answer questions.   Here’s a picture of her right after leaving the floor at her first competition ever!

dscf0379.jpg  You can see how happy and proud she it, and she deserved to be!

In terms of something more academic, she has an amazing ability to pick up on themes in literature and to really see all aspects of different characters.  As an indication, her favorite Harry Potter character is Severus Snape.  She truly feels for him although she never denies he is not likable, nor does he have very many tangibly good qualities. 

She’s also a darn good photographer!

 dscf0407.jpg

B just has this joy about him.  He is usually singing or dancing around or talking your ear off.  Everything is so exciting! and he just can’t wait!  He throws himself in wholeheartedly and gives everything his all, even if he isn’t very good at it (LOL!).  Here his is playing soccer, one of his most favorite things to do in the whole world!
dscf0510.jpg 

He is also an awesome caretaker of his pets dscf0526.jpg

M is quite the little artist, but wouldn’t you know it I can’t get my hands on any of her paintings right now!  That’s what being organized and filing away all their papers gets me! Ah well, you’ll just have to take my word for it!  She doesn’t paint pictures of things really, more how she feels.  She tends to use small paint strokes and fills the page.  Her paintings are quite beautiful really.  Here is a nice picture of her to make up for the fact that I don’t have any of her paintings to show you! dscf0194.jpg and one that shows her personality better dscf0468.jpg

Leave a Reply

