Home Ec

Today was one of those hot and steamy days that sometimes happen here in New England. They don’t happen that often, mind you, but they do happen, and today we had one.  Now, I don’t like cooking that much on a good day. Days like today make me do nutty things like make sandwiches for dinner or call a YOYO (you’re on your own) night. Did I do that tonight? Believe me I was sorely tempted, but no, I did not.

Tonight I made Coq Au Vin, steamed broccoli and parmesan Couscous.

“In the heat?” you may ask. Yes, in the heat. “Had you been preparing for days?” you may be wondering.  No, I didn’t even know how to prepare Coq Au Vin before this morning.  “Are you insane?” you may be thinking.  Well, possibly, but that’s not what brought about my culinary aspirations today.  What did?  I was cruising the internet this morning, trying not to move too much, when I remembered I hadn’t checked the A Year of Crockpotting blog in a few days. Once there I decided to do a search on “chicken” and see if anything struck me. Turns out that I had all the ingredients for Crockpot Coq Au Vin with a few substitutions. Could I really pull off something so fancy sounding (I wondered)? Would the kids eat it? Did we have time? I looked at the clock and realized that I had just enough time to thrown everything in the Crock Pot and still have it done by 6, so into the kitchen the kids and I went.

It was SO easy! Really! B chopped the onions and cut up the carrots (we didn’t have any babies), K opened the can of mushrooms (we didn’t have any fresh) and picked some thyme sprigs while M got the garlic, salt and pepper and W opened the bottle of (very cheap) red wine I had bought to make soup. I microwaved and crumbled the bacon. We pulled a bag of frozen chicken thighs from the freezer and began to layer things in the crock pot. I skipped the chicken broth because 1. we didn’t have any and 2. I have never found one that is gluten and milk free. Then I just turned it on and forgot about until dinner time.

After an afternoon out, we returned to a kitchen that smelled divine! I quickly nuked some water for the instant couscous mix and then steamed some broccoli in a microwave steam bag while it sucked up the water. This was the final product:

dscf1246.jpg

It tasted as good as it smelled and the kids loved it! They all made yummy noises while eating, fought over the seconds and B just stated “I really REALLY hope you make this again!”. Can’t beat that with a stick!  Especially when making a gluten free, milk free main course (M had Glutano Tapioca bread with hers).  This one is going in the files. 

The only disappointment was that ours did not turn out purple like Stephanie’s did 😉

One response to this post.

  1. I’m so glad to read this! I’m thrilled that your kids liked this—yay! I get terribly nervous that the stuff I make are “flukes” because I don’t have time to tweak and perfect.
    what a great write-up, thank you so much.
    xox
    steph

    Reply

Leave a Reply

