Learning all the time…even me!

This fall I did a very brave thing. I took a ballet class.

I honestly don’t know what I was thinking. I haven’t danced since I was a teenager and that was just a random Jazz class I took because my friend wanted company. I danced tap/ballet when I was 7 or 8 but that’s the exdtent of my experience. But….. I wanted to do a dance class at our studio this year and for some reason I chose ballet.  I paid my registration fee, got the shoes and showed up for class. 

I have a feeling that the instructor kind of wishes I didn’t.

To say I am out of practice is an understatement.  Although the muscle memory of some of it came right back to me, I seem to have forgotten how to do a turn entirely and my balance is waaayyy off.  I have a lot of work to do. 

But I’ll do it.  I am determined not to look like an idiot at recital for one thing 😉  and for another I really want to learn.  If both my girls can do then so can I darn it all!  You’re only as old as you feel and all that. Although after that first class I felt pretty old.  I have been practicing in the kitchen (W pushed the kitchen table to the back of the room so we would all have more room to practice and the kitchen counter isn’t a half bad barre) and K is giving me tips (the student becomes the teacher). 

Wish me luck!  I really don’t want to fall off stage this spring.

Leave a Reply

