Pumpkins and Moons and Shrunken Heads…oh my!

We decided that we would put up the Halloween decorations here at School Down the Lane. After filling speciemin jars, hanging up spider webs and setting up gravestones we were all in the moood for some Halloween crafts! What did we decided to make? Halloween cut out cookies and shrunken heads of course!

I made the executive decision to use a sugar cookie mix for the gluten full cookies, as well as some of those pilsbury ready to bake chocolate chips cookies. I would normally consider that a cop out, but we were pressed for time and hungry for cookies! Plus, I figured I was making GFCF cookies from scratch so that had to count for something…right? Right? Work with me here people!

I didn’t take any pictures of the ghost and pumpkin cookies I made or the chocolate chip ones, but here is a nice shot of the GFCF ones.

DSCF1925

We also decided to make Shrunken Apple Heads. I used the instructions from Our Best Bites http://www.ourbestbites.com/2009/10/crafty-in-kitchen-shrunken-heads.html.

I peeled everyone a granny smith apple and dunked them into a big pan full of water with lemon juice and salt. Then I let everyone go to town carving faces into the apples. Once that was done we put them all on a pan and stuck them into a warm oven (warm from the cookies!). After about a day they looked something like this:

DSCF1927

and this

DSCF1928

and this

DSCF1930

These heads are nowhere done shrinking, the instructions said it could take up to 2 weeks for them to finish drying out. I have ours in a low oven in an attempt to get them to dry faster them that. As of today they are still spongy!

One response to this post.

  1. oooh, I love it! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

