Homemade Pumpkin Muffins

and I mean completely homemade!  Seriously, I even ccoked a fresh pumpkin! 

Apparently there is a canned pumpkin shortage (who knew?) and when W heard I thought he might have a panic attack at the thought of not having pumpkin pie this year.  I had recently read a tutorial on how to cook up fresh pumpkins and figured it was worth a try….especially when I saw pie pumpkins on sale at my local mega-mart for 73 cents! 

So basically you are supposed to cut them in half , wrap them in foil and bake for 1 hour at 350.  Sounds easy right?  Um…yeah…not so much.  First of all “cutting” the things in half was nearly impossible.  I ended up spearing the tings with my sturdiest kitchen knife and repeatedly banging them on the counter until I managed to spllit them in half.  Then I realized you have to break the stems off too if you want to wrap the top half in foil.  Good thing there was nobody else in the kitchen or someone might have lost an eye!

Anyway….here they are in their foil jackets.

This is what they looked like after they were cooked…you could easily scrape out the meat with a fork or a spoon.

A bowl full of fresh pumpkin mush!  It had a few chunky bits but really didn’t need pureeing in my opinion.  I just mushed it up and used it as was.

a tower of empty pumpkin shells…they were very hard after baking.  Who am I kidding, they were very hard before baking 😉

and finally a finished pumpkin muffin!

Ummmmm…..I have no idea who took that bite *brushing crumbs off shirt*

They were very good if I do say so myself!

Leave a comment