Thursday Thirteen #2

Thirteen Books I Think You Should Read (in no particular order)

1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

2. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

3. The Seven Silly Eaters by Mary Ann Hoberman

4. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes

5. The Mysterious Island by Jule Verne

6. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling (all of them, but that’s my favorite)

7. The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan (again all the Percy Jackson books but this one in particular)

8. Unwind by Neil Shusterman

9. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

10. The Stand by Stephan King

11. All the Places to Love by Patricia Maclachlan

12. The People of Sparks by Jeanne Duprau (you need to read The City of Ember first)

13. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz (this is another series, I can’t pick one!)

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

 

You’ll notice a lot of young adult fiction, and I admit to being a sucker for it, but try them out anyway….these are really good books! Some of these are even picture books (#’s 3, 4 and 11). These are the ones I can still recall with fondness from my kid’s younger years, they have true staying power and are worth looking in IMO. The others are just the books I like to read over and over, or in the case of the Odd Thomas books wait impatiently for the latest installment.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I think I liked Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone best.

    Reply

  2. I’ve read all the harry potter books, and all the Odd Thomas books except for the most recent one (Odd Hours)

    I’ve also read The Stand.

    Reply

  3. From this list I have read Little Women and Harry Potter. We are still looking for the Percy Jackson books, we’ve heard good reviews about it, and this is another reason to go find copies 🙂

    Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment